Main Menu
WSOP 2006
Daily Report
The Final
2001 WSOP
2002 WSOP
2003 WSOP
2004 WSOP
2005 WSOP
  | Home   | Index   | Info   | This Week   | Poker   | News   | Email
World Series Of Poker
 $1,000 No-Limit Hold'em w/re-buys Result 8th July
June 25 – August 10 2006

Previous Event Next Event

Event # 14 (3 day event)
Entries -- 752 + 1670 rebuys
(Last year -- 826 + 538)
Buy-in -- $1,000
Prize Pool -- $2,317,887
Allen Cunningham
(Ventura, CA, USA)
wins $625,830 and
his 4th WSOP bracelet
Pos. Player Origin Prize
1 Allen Cunningham CA $625,830
2 David Rheem CA $327,981
3 Captain Tom Franklin MS $185,431
4 Steve Wong Netherlands $162,252
5 John Hoang CA $139,073
6 Thien Phan CA $115,894
7 Everett Carlton MN $92,715
8 Andrew Bloch NV $67,357
9 Alex Jacob CT $46,358
15 Miami John Cernuto $20,861
21 Chip Jett $11,589
24 Amir Vahedi $11,589
25 John Juanda $11,589
28 Conor Tate (Bury, United Kingdom) $8,113
34 Kathy Liebert $8,113
42 Huck Seed $6,722
44 Steve Zolotow $6,722
53 Barry Greenstein $5,447
56 Phil Gordon $4,636
72 Jim Bechtel $2,028
Key Facts 
74 places paid.
Allen Cunningham Wins Fourth Gold Bracelet, Second in Two Years

Las Vegas, NV - The loudest poker personalities may get the fame, but the most skilled players get the money. Allen Cunningham is neither loud, nor famous. In fact, he is usually the quietest poker player in the room. But he is most certainly a skilled consummate poker professional, and he sure gets the money. Lots of money.

Cunningham topped a highly-competitive field of 752 players in the $1,000 buy-in No-Limit Hold'em world championship at the 2006 World Series of Poker. He won a whopping $625,830 in prize money. The victory marked the fourth time the 29-year-old poker professional from southern California has won a WSOP title.

This was the first tournament of this year's World Series with re-buys. All other tournaments played thus far have been single-elimination freeze outs. The 1,670 re-buys in this event helped to generate a total prize pool of $2,317,887. After two lengthy days of play, the nine finalists took the illuminated stage at the Rio Casino in front of a packed gallery and ESPN television cameras on hand to film the exciting finale.

The final table started off with 'Captain' Tom Franklin and Tim Phan sharing a considerable substantial chip lead over the rest of the field. Of the final nine, only Franklin and Cunningham were former gold bracelet winners. Franklin won his WSOP title back in 1999 (Limit Omaha). Cunningham's WSOP victories came in 2001 (Seven-Card Stud), 2002 (Deuce to Seven Lowball), and 2005 (No-Limit Hold'em).

True to his character, Allen Cunningham's life story is unpretentious. He was a straight A-student at UCLA when he discovered his hidden talent for poker playing. While pursuing a degree in civil engineering, he started playing the game more seriously and began making money. In 1999, Cunningham enjoyed a breakthrough year in tournament poker - coincidently the same year that emerging rivals Phil Ivey, John Juanda, and Daniel Negreanu invaded the poker scene and began winning millions. In historical retrospect, Cunningham was part of a revolutionary movement in the game of poker, away from older, more traditional players towards younger, inventive new champions.

With this victory, Cunningham moved into elite poker territory. He joins nine players who have also won four WSOP gold bracelets - a list which currently includes Mickey Appleman, Bobby Baldwin, David Chiu, Artie Cobb, Tom McEvoy, Scotty Nguyen, Puggy Pearson, Amarillo Slim Preston, and Huck Seed. At age 29, Cunningham is one of only four other players to win at least four gold bracelets before turning thirty. The others were Stu Ungar, Phil Hellmuth, Jr., Layne Flack, and Phil Ivey.
by Nolan Dalla
Home | Index | Links | Information | Film Review | Columns | Diary | News | This Week | Email
Lotteries | Casino Gambling | Games | Betting | Equipment | Spotlight | Book Review | Glossary | Advice

This document maintained by
Material Copyright © 2000 - 2006